Press-conference with Lviv Honorary Ambassadors

0 comment

On November 26th Lviv Convention Bureau held the press conference dedicated to selection and nomination of Lviv Honorary Ambassadors. Among the interviewees were Lina Ostapchuk, director of Lviv Convention Bureau and Andriy Pavliv, deputy director, as well as four out of eleven Lviv Honorary Ambassadors – Lukasz Abgarowicz (Member of Polish Sejm), Mykhailo Zarichnyi (Professor of Mathematics in Lviv National University), Iryna Klyuchkovska (Director of International Institute of Education, Culture and Diaspora Relations of Lviv Polytechnic National University), and Nikodem Szczyglowski (Chairman of the Board of the SIA Baltic Aviation Support).

Lina Ostapchuk talked about the goals of the Ambassador Program and Andriy Pavliv outlined the plans for the next two years that concern cooperation with the Honorary Ambassadors.

Lukasz Abgarowicz thinks that Lviv should host not only business events, but also big political events, since the understanding between people in this city is strengthened by its multicultural character. Besides, the Honorary Ambassador stressed that he is ready to bring such events to the city.

Iryna Klyuchkovska shared her experience in holding international congresses on diaspora issues that were held in Lviv and said that she was willing to further gather the Ukrainians from all around the world.

Mykhailo Zarichnyi talked about the renaissance of the cafe Szkocka where “Banach’s mathematics school” met in 1930s and about the necessity to increase the number of scientific events in order to develop Lviv scientific environment.

Nikodem Szyglowski emphasized on the importance of city accessibility for MICE industry.

General information

Lviv Honorary Ambassador Program was launched in May of 2015. The deadline for submitting applications was in August, and in September eleven Honorary Ambassadors were selected by the Commission of 8 members.

Lviv Honorary Ambassadors 2016-2017:

Łukasz Abgarowicz – Senator of Polish Sejm, Honorary citizen of Virmenska street in Lviv

Olexander Filtz – Director of Lviv Regional Clinical Psychiatric Hospital

Iryna Klyuchkovska – Director of International Institute of Education, Culture and Diaspora Relations of Lviv Polytechnic National University

Fr. Bohdan Prakh – Rector of the Ukrainian Catholic University

Pavlo Sheremeta – Head of Ukrainian Catholic University School of Public Management

Andriy Sybirnyi – Member of NAS of Ukraine and the first Director of the Institute of Cell Biology

Nikodem Szczyglowski – Chairman of the Board of the SIA Baltic Aviation Support

Paul Tomandl – President of Reisewelt Ukraine Ltd.

Myron Uhryn – President of the Ukrainian Dental Implantologists Association

Stepan Veselovskyi – CEO Lviv IT Cluster

Myhailo Zarichnyi – Dean of the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics at Ivan Franko National University of Lviv

The finalists were selected according to the following criteria:

1. Tight and long connection to Lviv

2. Success in business

3. Leader who has a team or followers

4. Respected in the professional field with a good reputation

5. Public figure

6. High level of morality

7. Personal participation in conference management

The selection commission consisted of:

Lina Ostapchuk, director of Lviv Convention Bureau

Vardkes Arzumanyan, restaurateur

Oksana Bayuk, marketing and strategy consultant Quantum Leap Equity Holding GmbH

Oleksandra Gagarina, deputy general manager at Premier Hotel Dnister

Ihor Lylyo, professional guide, PhD

Roman Lesyk, professor, head of department for pharmaceutical, organic and bioorganic chemistry Danylo Halytskyi National Medical University in Lviv

Andriy Moskalenko, director of Mayor’s administration

Sofia Opatska, director of Lviv Business School

Share this: